Exhausted…but content

I’m grateful that for my girls and the joy that they bring to our lives. 

I have never experienced so much heartache and joy all at the same time. They make me cringe and laugh everyday. I cringe from all the tantrums, fighting over toys for the millionth time, cleaning up crumbs and spilled milk, cleaning up poo in random places, and oh the drama – so much emotional drama. 

But then there’s much laughter sprinkled throughout the day – enough to rejuvenate me in an otherwise impossible situation.

Annelise said to me the other day – “Mommy, why do you have white hair?” I laughed and told her, “It’s because I’m getting old.” She said, “Oh…you’re getting tired?” (I had told her previously that old people get tired) Haha! Yes, I’m exhausted. My right leg is completely sore from holding Katelynn (who is 30 pounds) when she was sick the other week. Yes, I’m utterly exhausted but so content.

I’m thankful that we survived two HG pregnancies – the road to bring the girls here was certainly far from easy but so worth it in the end.

I feel that way about bringing Ethan home. The waiting is, at times, so painful. But I have to say I’m so thankful that I don’t have to endure another HG pregnancy. Compared to hyperemesis, this adoption waiting should be a piece of cake! Mostly, I’m honored that I get to be Ethan’s forever mommy. 

Mother's Day 2015

Leave a Reply

