Three

I cannot believe how old she has become. Sometimes, I find myself catching my breath when I realize how mature she is. Not too long ago, I think about a month before Lisi turned three, our family was taking a walk around the neighborhood when it hit me that our baby girl was no longer a baby…it’s the little things that you don’t catch when you’re with your kids 24/7.

The thing that I noticed on this walk was that Annelise was sprinting down the sidewalk. I know you’re thinking – So? What’s the big deal? She’s just running.

But it got me thinking about all the walks we had when she was a toddler, when her walking was still wobbly and when her little legs would get tired in a matter of minutes and she would start crying and asking us to hold her because she could not make it back home on her legs. Now, she is running around and able to walk all the way back home without a stroller or without us carrying her.

It was this sudden realization that made me tear up. Where did the time go? How did she grow up so fast without me even fully grasping what was right in front of my own eyes?! On that note, I commit to enjoying every day and every second with my girls who startle me with their development, creativity, joy and love for us. Happy 3rd birthday Annelise!

IMG_4630

2 thoughts on “Three

  1. Happy birthday sweet girl!! Mine will be three in September and your post had me choking up–why do they have to get big so quickly?!

Leave a Reply

